Thread: WoT - Strategy and tactics

WoT - Strategy and tactics

Found this link:

http://forum.worldoftanks.eu/index.p...and-every-map/

Contains a very nice analyzes of pros and cons with different paths of attacks on several maps. A good start for the beginning tanker (and everyone else for that matter).

Re: WoT - Strategy and tactics

Some thoughts on the strategic and tactical aspects of WoT
    I probably should start with admitting that I’m not an expert on WoT. All the things I write here is according to my current understanding and might very well change as I get more experience. This is aimed at and for the singleplayer who plays random matches.

There are several different roles that you can take in the game. Before going into what role you “should” take (and as you will see, it isn’t as simple as you might think), let me quickly outline what some of those roles are:

Scout
    A scouts main priority is recon. To search out the enemy and reveal him on the maps so other units can engage them and take them out. A good scout is the artilleries best friend. A scout should be fast and have a good radio (a good radio is necessary in order for the information to be transferred over a large map), light tanks are the prime example of an class that usually take this role. A scouts secondary priority is to stay alive. Third priority is to penetrate deep behind enemies lines and find and destroy enemy artillery.

Priority for upgrade is engine and radio.

Sniper
    A sniper is any unit who are good at taking out enemies at long range. Units with a good punch but weak armor tend to take this approach. Typical unit would be TD who can’t move particularly quickly, but usually have a powerful gun. A unit who plays sniper should not be in the front line if it can be avoided. Vulnerable to artillery due to (usually) slow movement.

Priority for upgrade is gun, engine.

Smasher